top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Jennings

Double Chocolate Chip Cake Bread

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Baking Time: 1 hour

Cooling Time: 2 hours

Ready in: 3 hours and 10 minutes


Ingredients: 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 t baking soda

1/2 t baking powder

1/2 cup salted butter, melted and cooled

1/2 cup oil

1 cup granulated sugar

3 eggs

2 t vanilla

3 T brewed strong coffee, cooled

1 1/2 cups applesauce

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips


Directions: Step one:

Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare two medium (9 x 5) loaf pans* with nonstick cooking spray and dust with cocoa.


Step two:

In a medium bowl, mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and, and set aside.


Step three:

In the bowl of a stand mixer cream the butter, oil, and the sugar until fluffy and pale yellow, about two minutes. Add eggs one at a time mixing well after each addition.


Step four:

Combine vanilla, coffee, and applesauce and mix into egg mixture until well combined.




Step five:

Add the dry ingredients stirring until just combined.


Step six:

Coat the chocolate chips with 2 tablespoons flour and stir into batter.


Step seven:

Spoon batter into prepared pans. Bake for about one hour or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.


Step eight:

Let it cool! This may be the hardest step but if you attempt to cut it before it is cool it will crumble to pieces. It is worth the wait.


About this recipe:

This desire to have chocolate chip cake came from an impulse purchase. I picked up a Hershey’s chocolate cake from my local grocery store and it was so good! This is my attempt to recreate it and I think it was pretty close.

*The pan:

As you can see from photos I did not use a bread pan. I do not have one and due to the pandemic, I could not just go buy one so I made do. I simply just cut the 8x8 bread into half and they were bread pan size.


The chocolate:

For the chocolate you can use whatever you have on hand I had all three and I like a variety but as long as you use 2 1/2 cups the type of chocolate does not matter.

The coffee:

Feel free to use decaf if you are worried about caffeine but if you are worried about a coffee flavor I promise you will not taste the coffee in the final cake it is just there to enhance the chocolate flavor.


Let me know if you’ve tried to make this yourself, and be sure to tag me in the photos @kneadingpatience on Instagram.

24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page